Not your average everyday photography.

When left to my own devices…

I DO RAD STUFF!!!! Seriously though, I’ve been pent-up in the house for way to long and going a bit bat crazy.  7 out of 10 times this happens I’ll grab my camera and do some sort of project. That’s how I came up with the bokeh post, and the one about stuff around the basement. So TAAAADAAAAAA here’s another one. Lately I have been DYING to get a strobist kit, but I just can’t bring myself to splurge on it just yet. But I’ve been watching tons of videos youtube and think I have a pretty good grasp on it, so to speak. And spliced in with strobist videos I also really enjoy watching special effects make up tutorials. So today I decided I wanted to do BOTH! I spent about an hour or two doing my hair and make up, and then another couple of hours playing with lighting. Now I don’t actually own a flash so what I did was took a couple lamps, took the shades off, and held them by hand in the positioning I wanted them. Oh, and I suppose I’ll also mention that I don’t have a shutter release either. So it was fun pressing the trigger, grabbing the lights, holding them in place, pose, rinse lather, and repeat. LOL But in all seriousness I really enjoy doing every part of this, who knows maybe this is a start of a series of self portraits or something. Hope you likey!

Suppose I should go wash my face off now 😉

4 responses

  1. love, love, love it!

    March 1, 2011 at 4:55 pm

  2. how cool! love how these turned out. although in the first one your eyes look so sad. i can’t tell if it is the makeup or you just weren’t having fun yet.

    and i swear woman, one of these days i wanna have you do my hair and make up (because i can’t do either!).

    March 1, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    • I was just trying different facial expressions. I haven’t been the happiest lately so I wanted to take some that conveyed that. 🙂

      And you know I would LOVE to!!! 😀

      March 1, 2011 at 7:39 pm

  3. Thats better than when I try to paint my face like KISS. I may need you to do my makeup

    March 9, 2011 at 2:29 pm

Leave a Reply

